Long Haul Flight Tips

For once you have tasted flight, you will walk the earth with your eyes turned skyward, for there you have been, and there you will long to return – Leonardo da Vinci.

Flying is the first point of excitement for me when it comes to travelling. When I’m above the clouds, looking out at the blue skies, I am in love with travel – actually in love with it. It is the starting point of being on a new adventure, visiting somewhere different, perhaps even moving there. Flying, for me, is all part of the excitement of travel, but I do know that some people do not share this view of mine. For some, it is merely a form of transportation; for others it is something to fear.

Now I am by no way an expert on long haul flights, having only done two and about to embark on my third. Or does something more than seven hours count? In which case, it would be double. Basically, I’ve travelled from the UK to Australia and back again, and I am about to do it all over again in two days time, as I write this. My longest is the leg between Dubai and Sydney which was fourteen hours, and that is such a long time to be sat in a plane for, no matter the comfort of the seat.

However, I do feel like I’ve got enough experience to share my knowledge and give a few pointers here and there. Plus, this is a mini reminder to myself of what’s to come, and what to do whilst I’m 36,000 feet in the air.

Sleep 

It sounds easy. It is not. I think I slept a solid hour during my entire journey from Perth to London a few weeks back. Maybe it was just the build up of excitement about coming home, seeing my partner and surprising friends and family; the week before on a bus I slept for an entire day. It is important that you try and prepare your body for the time zone you are heading into. There is nothing worse than jet lag – getting tired in the afternoons but staying wide awake at 4am.

Entertainment

love Emirates air line. I am sure that other popular, slightly more expensive, and long haul flights also have in-flight entertainment – I think I watched about seven or eight films during my last journey back to the UK, including recent releases such as Moana, The Legend of Tarzan, Nerve and Bridget Jones’s Baby. I also know for a fact that La La Land is available on there too, so I’ll be watching that on the way back. It is a great place to really get into a film and its storyline because there’s no other distractions apart from maybe food and in-flight Wifi.

Nevertheless, not all airlines are well equipped with up to date movies and TV shows; or you might be getting shorter flights on cheaper airlines which has nothing to offer. No fear! You just have to be more efficient with your entertainment stash in your carry on. Little things such as wordsearch, sudoku and crossword keeps your brain active and can surprisingly take a good amount of time to complete. A good book is always a must – or a few – to grip you into forgetting about the (sometimes agonizingly slow) minutes passing by. Magazines also do the job, but you would need more of these for the duration of a long haul flight. Also, an iPod with music on is always handy!

Moisturise

I’m not the one in the know with all the latest beauty and skincare trends, especially the ones for dried out skin due to the racking up of air miles. Personally, the highest form of moisturiser I have is my trusty Simple one. It is enough for me… until I find an exceptionally good one that I can kinda afford. It is important to keep your skin clean and moisturised because you’re not seeing a shower for a long while, for one. Also, you don’t want any unnecessary breakouts or random peeling of your skin.

Fluids

Talking of hydration, take a bottle of water with you if you can. Some airlines don’t allow you to take your own through so buy one. Yes, you can get some onboard whenever you like, but if you’re like me, you might tend to forget if it’s not right in front of you. Double up your water intake if you decide to have a cheeky alcoholic beverage, or two. You are on holiday after all!

Keep Fresh 

This means a number of things: extra knickers, toothpaste, wipes and deodorant. I made the rookie mistake of not changing my underwear at all during my last journey, I mean, it’s not a necessity but it does make me feel a lot fresher and more comfortable, personally, especially when you’re in the air for a total of eighteen hours. Wipes can be for wherever you want to have a quick spruce up of yourself: face, underarms, your bits, arms, legs, feet, knees, wherever. I like to brush my teeth just before I’m getting off of the plane, so maybe an hour before in total as you have to factor in the descent time too. Deodorant is a little too obvious to explain, right?

Comfort

I am not one of those girls who wears heels to the airport, nor am I the girl who wears jeans, a stylish top and a fluffy jacket that screams fashion. You will find me in leggings, harem trousers or some form of jogging bottoms and a hoody complete with a black cami top from Primark. I live for comfort, especially on aeroplanes, and double-especially on long haul flights. I couldn’t be squirming in my seat due to the tightness of my skirt or pants!

Minimal Hand Luggage

This doesn’t just count for long haul, but for all flights. If I am taking multiple luggage bags aka one that you chuck in at check in and a carry on, I 100% prefer to take as little as possible on the plane with me. Obviously, sometimes you just have to take more on the plane with you if your suitcase is over… oops. I like to take a normal sized backpack complete with my must-haves: money, passport and tickets in one compact place and then a notebook, iPad and kindle alongside it. More of what I pack for long haul flights can be found here, although I have adapted to compromise since then to better my packing skills.

Flying long haul can be a little daunting at first, but as long as you are comfortable and you relax, it doesn’t have to be scary.

What are your tips for flying long distances?

Love, Faye x

Leave a Reply

